RainbowCup SA PRO14 Lockup Portrait
PRO14 to Rebrand as United Rugby Championship

The PRO14 will rebrand as the United Rugby Championship, when South Africa’s four teams join the competition in 2021-22.

The Sharks, Stormers, Lions and Bulls will play alongside the 12 existing sides from Ireland, Italy, Scotland and Wales in a 16-team league.

There will be one division, with end of season play-offs, whilst the South African sides will be eligible to qualify for European competitions from 2022-23.

The final agreement for the new league creates a pathway for SA Rugby to become a full shareholder in the PRO Rugby Championship (PRC DAC) alongside the Celtic and Italian unions.

HAVE YOU READ?: Tennis SA and SABC Strike Broadcast Deal

“South African rugby has for many years imagined a future aligned with northern hemisphere rugby and this announcement marks the arrival of that vision,” said Jurie Roux, CEO of SA Rugby. “Our teams will be pitting themselves against the leading clubs from four nations, steeped in rugby tradition and folklore. They’ll do it without having to cross time zones or acclimatise, while 100% of matches will kick off in South African prime time.”

The season is due to start at the end of September, with each team playing 18 regular-season fixtures, while there will be a grand final in mid-June next year.

The tournament will run for at least five seasons with league bosses stating the intention is not to change the format again.

Sport Industry Group
Sport Industry Group

Share this post

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on print
Share on email

Related posts